Equity, Diversity & Inclusion in the School of Social Welfare

The School of Social Welfare’s Equity Diversity and Inclusion Standing Committee (EDISC) aims to cultivate and sustain an inclusive School of Social Welfare at Stony Brook University. The committee’s primary goal is to ensure that the school community is a welcoming and inclusive environment for all which challenges injustice. The committee is charged with ongoing assessment of school climate around issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion and recommends strategies to address inequities. We view our students, faculty, and staff as ambassadors for fundamental freedoms, social justice and respect for the differences of others. The committee is comprised of representatives from all areas (faculty, staff, student services, field education) and includes representation from both the BSW and MSW student body. 

EDISC Committee Members

Co-Chairs: Dr. Amy Hammock, Assistant Professor & Marvin L. Colson, Clinical Associate Professor

Dr. Robin Deluca-Acconi, Assistant Dean

Christine Corrado, Director of Advising

Dr. Anna Hayward, Associate Professor

Shelley Horwitz, Assistant Dean, Manhattan Operations

Zachary A. Morris, Assistant Professor

Dina Pilgrim, Assistant Director, Field Education; Clinical Assistant Professor 

Dr. Charles Robbins, Professor & Executive Director, Center for Changing Systems of Power

Student members:

Jessica Cortes, MSW Advanced Standing, May 2021

Tynisha George, MSW/MPH, May 2022 

Karolina Guzman, MSW, May 2021

Dena Spanos, MSW, May 2021

Statement on Behalf of the EDISC Committee: April 20, 2021