Faculty

faculty


Michelle Ballan, Ph.D. Michelle S. Ballan, PhD
Professor & Associate Dean for Research, School of Social Welfare;
Professor, Family, Population and Preventive Medicine
Email: Michelle.Ballan@stonybrook.edu
 

 Melissa L. Bessaha, Ph.D. Melissa L. Bessaha, PhD, LMSW, MA
Assistant Professor
Email: Melissa.Bessaha@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-638-2514

Frances L. Brisbane, Ph.D.. Frances L. Brisbane, PhD
Professor
Vice President for Health Sciences Workforce Diversity
Email: Frances.Brisbane@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-9638

Marvin L. Colson, M.S. Marvin L. Colson, MS
Clinical Associate Professor
Director of Developmental Disabilities Programs
Email: Marvin.Colson@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-3162

   

Melissa Earle, PhD, LCSW Melissa J. Earle, PhD, LCSW
Clinical Assistant Professor
Director of Online Education
Email: Melissa.Earle.1@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-2138

Jeanette Lukas-Englert, LMSW Jeanette Lukas, LMSW
Clinical Assistant Professor
Field Education
Email: Jeanette.Lukas-Englert@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-2138

 

Image: Iris Fienberg Iris Cohen Fineberg, PhD, MSW, OSW-C
Associate Professor
E-mail: Iris.Fineberg@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-3164

Warren K. Graham, LMSW, ACSW, CASAC Warren K. Graham, LCSW, ACSW, CASAC
Assistant Dean for Field Education
Clinical Assistant Professor
Email: Warren.Graham@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-3161

Image: Amy Hammock Amy Hammock, PhD
Assistant Professor
Email: Amy.Hammock@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-3108

 anna R. Anna Hayward, PhD, MSW
Associate Professor
Email: Anna.Hayward@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-3177

Image: George LeibowitZ George Leibowitz, PhD
Professor; Doctoral Program Director & Chair
Email: George.Leibowitz@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-6369

Sana Malik

Sana Malik, PhD
Assistant Professor
Email: Sana.K.Malik@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-3691


Image: Kathleen Monahan


Kathleen Monahan, DSW
Associate Professor
Director of the Family Violence Education and Research Center
Email: Kathleen.Monahan@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-3152


 

Jacqueline B. Mondros, DSW
Dean and Professor
Assistant Vice President for Social Determinants of Health
Email:jacqueline.mondros@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-2139


Image: Richard Morgan Richard Morgan, PhD
Associate Dean & Graduate Program Director
Clinical Associate Professor
Director of Student Community Development Specialization
Email: Richard.Morgan@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-6926

Zachary Morrison

Zachary A. Morris, PhD
Assistant Professor
Email:
Phone: 631-444-2255


Ijeoma Opara, PhD, LMSW, MPH Ijeoma Opara, PhD, LMSW, MPH
Assistant Professor
Email: Ijeoma.Opara@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-3149

 

Carolyn Peabody, Ph.D. Carolyn Peabody, PhD 
Clinical Associate Professor
Assistant Dean for Eastern Long Island Sites
Email: Carolyn.Peabody@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-3165

Dina Pilgrim, LMSW

Dina Pilgrim, LMSW
Assistant Director, Field Education
Clinical Assistant Professor
E-mail: Dina.Pilgrim@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-3151

 


Stephen Rabeno Stephen Rabeno, PhD, LCSW-R
Clinical Assistant Professor
Email: Stephen.Rabeno@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-3168

Charles Robbins Charles Robbins, DSW
Associate Professor
Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
Dean of the Undergraduate Colleges
E-mail: Charles.Robbins@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-632-7211

Hyacinth Spence, LMSW Hyacinth Spence, LMSW
Clinical Assistant Professor
Field Education Coordinator
Email: Hyacinth.Spence@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-3174

Image: Suzanne Valezquez Suzanne L. Velázquez, PhD, LCSW
Clinical Associate Professor
Director of the Undergraduate Program
Email: Suzanne.Velazquez@stonybrook.edu
Phone: 631-444-6909

  FACULTY EMERITI
 

Joel Blau, D.S.W.
Professor of Social Policy
Director of the PhD Program
AREAS OF INTEREST
History of social welfare, poverty, homelessness, the political economy of social welfare, and comparative social welfare, as well as the major U.S. social programs for food, income supports,  health care, housing, and employment policy

Ruth A. Brandwein, PhD
Dean, 1981-1989

Harvey A. Farberman, PhD
Professor