NASW Suffolk- Awards Scholarships to Two of Our Own

Hope Moore, a BSW candidate and Elizabeth Hehir, a second year MSW student are the recipients of the 2017 NASW-Suffolk Chapter scholarship awards. Each was selected among a competitive group of applicants and were honored at an Awards Brunch on April 22. 

According to NASW, Suffolk Division Chair/Director, Silas W. Kelly, LMSW, "Hope Moore is slowly evolving into a "Social Work Professional"  ready to "Stand Up" for clients, communities, causes, and the profession.  As an NASW Student Liaison Leader she consistently promotes a positive, accurate image of our profession whether Rallying in Albany to "Raise the Age", creating a poster board to promote  NASW on campus, or collaborating with other student leaders to gauge and increase student interest in their professional organization.  She is a valuable asset to NASW". 

Ms. Moore and Ms. Hehir's submissions exemplified dedication to the "Social Workers Stand Up" awareness building campaign with an emphasis on the core values and ethics of the social work profession as they strive to collaboratively educate the public on the importance of social work. According to Dr. Rachel L. Seiler, Ph.D, LMSW, Chair, NASW Scholarship Committee, "the NASW scholarship process is truly meant to be a venue for the identification and recognition of Next Gen social work leaders, and a point of departure for them to start developing and flexing their leadership muscles".

From left: Hope Moore, BSW student award recipient; Jasmine Morales, BSW candidate; Amanda Maldonado, BSW candidate; Dr. Stephen Rabeno, professor; Jennifer Davidson, program manager; Dr. Donna Riley, adjunct professor; Dr. Robin DeLuca-Acconi, adjunct professor, NASW- Suffolk, Social Worker of the Year; Silas W. Kelly, LMSW, NASW-Suffolk, Division Chair/Director, Elizabeth Hehir, MSW student award recipient. Missing from photo: Alaina Ingram, MSW candidate, NASW student liason leader